My Journey in 2022

My Journey in 2022

I am an engineering student pursuing BTech in Computer Science and Engineering. In 2022 I started learning DevOps from some online content and I continue it while learning I started contributing to open source. At first, the open-source contributions are very difficult for me not getting how to get started to it. The issues I probably see are out of my thinking and I can't able crack them. At the time of doing it, I was able to know about writing blogs in this niche.

I started writing blogs and publishing them in hashcode and at the time of publishing I came to know about the event "Dev Retro 2022" which was going on. At first, I was not confident enough to share my journey as I have not achieved something big or successfully merge a PR but then I think I should share it as some failures can teach something better for your future perspective.

In this journey of 2022, I achieved nothing but I learned something which can help me in future contributions.

The problems faced by me during the journey:

Open source is a complex-looking but easy-to-start platform. At the time of my learning, a new language and implementing good sources is very difficult for me. I can't get the way how to contribute to the open source. At first struggling in getting a good first issue in open source and cracking the solution of it, implementing it, and making the pr merged was the most vital part. After so many attempts. I didn't get any of my PR merged still struggling through it.

Experiences:

I started contributing to open source on 5th July 2022 and continue till further. And I started writing on 5th December and publish my first article on 18th December.

Lessons Learned:

In this journey, I learned that success doesn't achieve in one day and it requires a lot of effort and dedication to achieve a goal. I get to know about how open source work and how to get started in it. Don't lose hope always try and explore something new maybe there is something great waiting for you.